Spring 2014 Calendar

Updated March 2, 2014 – Changes highlighted in RED


 

Priority Dates and Time Tickets

Registration times are assigned to each class code in order of completed hours from most to least. Go to Patriot Web to verify your registration time and to make sure you have a record free of holds that prevent registration.

*All newly admitted freshmen and transfer students must attend orientation and will register on that day.

Priority Dates Class Code
11/5 Graduate
11/7 Seniors
11/11 Juniors
11/13 Sophomores
11/15 Freshmen
11/20 Nondegree Graduate
1/13 Nondegree Undergraduate

Important Dates

Dates listed on this page are for full semester courses only. For add/drop deadlines for courses that meet less than a full semester, see Non-standard Sections Dates.

For graduation deadlines, please go to the Graduation Timelines page.

January 1 Day of Week Wednesday
Martin Luther King Day (no classes) Mon Jan 20
First day of classes; last day to submit Domicile Reclassification Application; Payment Due Date; full semester waitlists removed Tue Jan 21
Summer 2014 Graduation Intent Available via Patriot Web Mon Jan 27
Last day to add classes—all individualized section forms due
Last day to drop with no tuition penalty
*For classes that meet Wednesday before 10:30 a.m. – Students have until 12:00 p.m. on Thursday January 30th to submit a force add form (signed by the instructor or department) to the Office of the University Registrar. Manual registration will be required.
Tues Jan 28
Wed Jan 29
Last day to drop with a 33% tuition penalty Tues Feb 11
Final Drop Deadline (67% tuition penalty) Fri Feb 21
Last day to file your Spring 2014 Graduation Intent Fri Feb 21
Immunization Record Deadline Sat Mar 1
Midterm progress reporting period (100-200 level classes)—grades available via Patriot Web Mon Feb 17 – Fri Mar 21
Mon Mar 24
Selective Withdrawal Period (undergraduate students only) Mon Feb 24 – Fri Mar 28
Spring Break Mon Mar 10 - Sun Mar 16
Incomplete work from Fall 2013 due to Instructor Fri Mar 28
Incomplete grade changes from Fall 2013 due to Registrar Fri Apr 4
Dissertation/Thesis Deadline Fri May 2
Makeup Day for Thu, Feb 13 Tue May 6
Makeup Day for Fri, Feb 14 Wed May 7
Makeup Day for Mon, Mar 3 Thu May 8
Last day of classes Thu May 8
Reading Days
Reading days provide students with additional study time for final examinations. Faculty may schedule optional study sessions, but regular classes or exams may not be held.
Tue May 6
CANCELLED
Exam Period (beginning at 7:30 a.m.)
**Final exam times have been shortened to accommodate university closures and delayed openings.
Wed May 7 – Wed May 14
Fri May 9 – Wed May 14
Commencement and Degree Conferral Date May 17

Part-of-Term Tuition Liability Dates

There are standard Part-of-Term codes designated for courses that meet for the full semester (1), the first half of the semester (1F), or the last half of the semester (1L). Some courses meet for less than the full semester and have modified add, drop, and tuition liability dates. The part-of term code for non-standard courses will be listed in the section notes on Patriot Web. Please refer to the chart below for specific add/drop deadline dates.

Please note: Courses may be assigned to a Part-of-Term code that doesn’t necessarily match the exact start and end date for the section. Students should consult Patriot Web for the exact start and end dates for these non-standard courses.

Part-of-Term Code Dates Last Day to Add/Drop(no tuition liability) Last Day to Drop(with 33% liability) Final Drop Deadline/Last day to Drop(with 67% liability) Selective Withdrawal Period*(100% liability)
1 1/21–5/14 1/28 1/29 2/11 2/21 2/24 – 3/28
1F 1/21–3/17 1/28 1/29 1/31 2/4 2/5 – 2/12
1I 1/21–5/14 1/28 1/29 2/11 2/21 2/24 – 3/28
1L 3/18–5/14 3/25 3/28 4/1 4/2 – 4/9
1M 2/10–4/6 2/17 2/20 2/24 2/25 – 3/4
1N 1/21–5/14 3/25 3/28 4/1 4/2 – 4/9
1W 1/2–1/20 1/6 1/8 1/9 – 1/10

*The Selective Withdrawal Period applies to undergraduate degree-seeking students only. See the University Catalog for further details.

Payment Due Dates and Policies

Student Accounts is responsible for all payment policies. Refer to the the Student Accounts website for more information and important deadlines.