Spring 2020 Academic Calendar

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Approved by Faculty Senate on: March 6, 2019; September 4, 2019

Updated October 15, 2019

For information on make-ups for classes and exams canceled this semester, please go to Class Cancellations.


Priority Dates and Time Tickets

Registration times are assigned to each class code in order of completed hours from most to least. Go to Patriot Web to verify your registration time and to make sure you have a record free of holds that prevent registration.

*All newly admitted freshmen and transfer students must attend orientation and will register on that day.

Priority DatesClass Code
Nov 5, 2019Graduate Students
Nov 7, 2019Seniors Only (90+ hours earned)
Nov 11, 2019Juniors (60-89 hours earned)
Nov 13, 2019Sophomores (30-59 hours earned)
Nov 15, 2019Freshmen (0-29 hours earned)
Nov 20, 2019Non-degree Graduate
Jan 6, 2020Non-degree Undergraduate

Important Dates

Dates and deadlines listed on this page include full semester and 7.5 Week Sessions only. Students enrolled in courses in the 8 Week Modular (Online Only) Session need to refer to that calendar for their add/drop dates. Students in the modular calendar cannot also take courses in the full semester academic calendar. Academic calendar dates are subject to change.

For add/drop deadlines for courses that meet less than a full semester, see Non-standard Sections Dates.

For graduation deadlines, please go to the Graduation Timelines page.

DescriptionFull Semester7.5 Week: Session I7.5 Week: Session II
Schedule of Classes Available in PatriotWebMon. Oct 7Mon. Oct 7Mon. Oct 7
Priority Dates BeginTue. Nov 5Tue. Nov 5Tue. Nov 5
Consortium Registration DeadlineTue. Jan 7Tue. Jan 7Tue. Jan 7
MLK Day: University ClosedMon. Jan 20 Mon. Jan 20 Mon. Jan 20
First Day of Spring Classes: Payment Due DateTue. Jan 21 Wed. Jan 15 Mon. Mar 16
Last Day to Submit Domicile Reclassification ApplicationTue. Jan 21Tue. Jan 21Tue. Jan 21
Last Day to Add: All Individual Sections Forms DueTue. Jan 28 Fri. Jan 17 Wed. Mar 18
Last Day to Drop (Last Day for 50% Refund)Tue. Feb 11 Tue. Jan 21 Fri. Mar 20
Unrestricted Withdrawal PeriodWed. Feb 12 – Mon. Feb 24 Wed. Jan 22 - Mon. Feb 3 Sat. Mar 21 – Thurs. Apr 2
Mid-term Evaluation Period: 100-200 level classes - Grades Available via PatriotWebMon. Feb 17 – Fri. Mar 20 N/AN/A
Selective Withdrawal Period - Undergraduate Students Only (100% tuition liability)Tue. Feb 25 – Mon. Mar 30 Tues. Feb 4 – Mon. Feb 10 Fri. Apr 3 – Thurs. Apr 9
Spring Recess: No ClassesMon. Mar 9- Sun. Mar 15N/AN/A
Incomplete Work from Fall 2019 Due to InstructorTBDN/AN/A
Incomplete Grade Changes from Fall 2019 Due to RegistrarTBDN/AN/A
Dissertation/Thesis DeadlineFri. May 1 N/AN/A
Reading Day(s): Reading days provide students with additional study time for final examinations. Faculty may schedule optional study sessions, but regular classes or exams may not be held.Tue. May 5 N/AN/A
Last Day of ClassMon. May 4 Wed. Mar 4 Fri. May 1
Examination PeriodWed. May 6 – Wed. May 1Thu. Mar 5 – Fri. Mar 6 Mon. May 4 – Tue. May 5
University CommencementFri. May 15 Fri. May 15 Fri. May 15
Degree Conferral DateSat. May 16 Sat. May 16 Sat. May 16

Part of Term and Tuition Liability Dates

There are standard Part-of-Term codes designated for courses that meet for the full semester (1),the first half of the semester (1F), or the last half of the semester (1L). Some courses meet for less than the full semester and have modified add, drop, and tuition liability dates. The part-of term code for non-standard courses will be listed in the section notes on Patriot Web. Please refer to the chart below for specific add/drop deadline dates. These dates are subject to change.

Please note: Courses may be assigned to a Part-of-Term code that doesn’t necessarily match the exact start and end date for the section. Students should consult Patriot Web for the exact start and end dates for these non-standard courses.

Refer to the Student Accounts website for more payment policies information and important tuition deadlines.

Part of Term CodeDatesLast Day to AddLast Day to Drop with 100% RefundFinal Drop Deadline (50% Refund)Unrestricted Withdraw Period (Full Tuition Liability)Selective Withdraw Period (Full Tuition Liability)
Full Semester (1)1/21 - 5/131/282/52/112/12 – 2/242/25 – 3/30
7.5 Week: Session 1 (751)1/15 – 3/61/171/21 (Final Drop)N/A1/22 – 2/32/4 – 2/10
7.5 Week: Session II (752)3/16 – 5/53/183/20 (Final Drop)N/A3/21 – 4/24/3 – 4/9
First Half (1F)1/21-3/91/28TBD (Final Drop)N/A2/1-2/32/4-2/11
Middle Half (1M)2/3-3/282/10TBD (Final Drop)N/A2/14-2/162/17-2/24
Last Half (1L)3/16-5/43/24TBD (Final Drop)N/A3/28-3/303/31-4/7
Independent Study (1I)1/21 – 5/131/282/52/112/12 – 2/242/25 – 3/30

*The Selective Withdrawal Period applies to undergraduate degree-seeking students only. See the University Catalog for further details.